June 12, 2007

It was seven years ago today…

Posted in art, real life at 3:39 pm by nevavegan

That Sean and I ran off to the court house and got ourselves hitched.

I’m taking the day off from blogging, though we’re not likely to celebrate much today. We’ll go hiking this weekend with the dogs.

Wait, I lied, I’m not totally taking the day off from blogging. Here’s a really happy thought for the day. One thing we can and should be doing about global warming is instituting green roofs throughout urban areas and building parks on abandoned lots.

Studies suggest that adding just a little more tree cover in urban areas could have a significant cooling effect. Some species of plants also absorb greenhouse gasses. Since many buildings already have extremely sturdy roofs, it would not be terribly hard to put planters on them containing some hardy varieties of plants to have a greening effect on the city.

The tops of buildings could even be set up as roof top parks and gardens to allow urban dwelling folks to reconnect with nature. Further, some minor alterations to the plumbing of the buildings would allow the plants on the roofs to be watered with grey water, that would be the non-sewage waste water from the building. By requiring more eco-friendly cleaning supplies, laundry soap, and dishwashing soap, much of the grey water from urban buildings would be safe to use to water plants. This seems like just an incredibly beautiful, fun thing–think of all those city apartment dwellers planting flowers and veggies with their kids–but it would also be a powerful thing for the environment.

As always though, going vegan is the biggest step we can all take to halt global warming.

PS. My friend says that vegan cooking blogs convinced her to go vegan. It was sort of like, wow, look at all that good food, and I’ll be helping animals, I guess I ought to do this. So for all of you guys cooking and photographing and posting your beautiful vegan meals, keep up the good work!
2 Comments »

  1. Sean said,

    I love you!!!

  2. Deb said,

    Congrats!

    And I totally agree about greening the roofs. It is an awesome idea, definitely something that would help the environment on mutiple levels. Of course I can hear the officials already, droning on about safety, liability, etc. I wonder what it takes to at least present the idea.

    When I came to work this morning, the guard who works the building was coming outside to “water his plant”. I was confused at first – he was sprinkling water among the landscaping…then I realized that the plant that he was watering was an addition to the landscaping. I was really excited to see this kind of thing in action – that’s something I’ve been wanting to do for a while!


Leave a Reply

