June 5, 2007

A Vegan Deed for the Day

Posted in cake, happiness, vegan, veganism at 6:56 pm by nevavegan

I passed around vegan birthday cake at work, a little late but better than never, though sadly to only four co-workers. They came back later demanding the truth, they just knew it couldn’t be vegan. You can’t make a good, moisty carrot cake with cream cheese frosting and not use cheese, and eggs, and butter! No, indeed, it is in fact vegan. 100%. Thank my good pal Tofutti non-hydrogenated “Cream Cheese” (really soy based) and using apple sauce instead of eggs, and grating in fresh carrots and loading it up with walnuts, and ginger and cinnamon.

Happiness abounds.

BTW, I have added an email me button to my profile. I might have to remove it if it results in out of control spam, but… When I started this blog I figured that people would leave comments, and that a lot of people reading had my email address anyway. Then I discovered I’d been getting emails on an old address I don’t really use anymore. Soooo, it seemed prudent to make a way for people to contact me. But fear of spam was the reason I didn’t do it in the first place, so we’ll see.

But for what it’s worth, seriously, you can leave a comment disagreeing with me if you like!!

4 Comments »

  1. bazu said,

    Carrot cake: opening peoples’ eyes about veganism, one by one.

  2. Jul said,

    I brought vegan cupcakes to a brunch the other day, and everyone was raving about how fabulous they were. They wouldn’t believe they were vegan!

  3. Deb said,

    I had a vegan dinner night with some friends (omni) the other night. We did that periodically when I lived there, at their request. They’re fascinated by vegan food, and we always have fun with it. This time we did stuff wiht silken tofu, which I realized I’d always avoided in the past, trying to show that vegan food could be exotic and yummy while using everyday ingredients.

    But the silken tofu fascinated my friend. The many uses, the fact that we used it in 2 recipes, and it became a sour cream and a pudding.

    She told me how often they have vegan food now. I have never considered them open to veganism itself, but they’ve actually ended up introducing many more people to vegan food than I have, so I joked with her that she does vegan outreach for me. It is interesting, and I think it is a victory of sorts just to get people to eat and make vegan food on their own. It is a step in a good direction, anyway.

    So, food as activism. I do believe in it. And carrot cake…lucky coworkers!

  4. Neva Vegan said,

    Thanks Bazu!

    Good work Jul, I do think that desserts are one area where people have trouble believing vegan food can be good. So we need to keep feeding them cake!

    Thanks Deb, It’s amazing when our friends who are most resistant to veganism adopt some of our recipes. The chocolate pie made by blending tofu and melted chocolate chips has become viral… I introduced a friend to it, she made it for her husband, he made it for his co-workers and passed on the recipe. People think it sounds gross until they try it. Then they like it and realize how easy the recipe is, so it totally catches on. Now if only they’d eat veggie burgers!!!


Leave a Reply

