June 1, 2007

Blogging Weirdness

Posted in animal advocacy, real life at 1:05 pm by nevavegan

So, Sean thinks I should eliminate my foxes (painting by me) userpic and put a picture of myself up. My question is “Who wants to look at a picture of me?”

Funny.

Also weirdly enough, I’m pretty sure that family members of mine are reading this blog. Which I always knew was a risk when I started it, and I was just past caring. But while I think they are reading it, they never admit to reading it, they just occassionally reference stuff I’ve posted here. Hmmm.

I have declared my desire for my birthday is to eat a lot of watercress. Like insane amounts. Do you think I’ll get my wish? Maybe some really fresh, like made that second, avocado sushi too. I might have a birthday cake but I don’t really feel like making one, so probably not unless I get majorly motivated tonight or tomorrow.

Bunny people are also coming over on my birthday to photograph our bunny area to demonstrate the kind of space and safe set up that house rabbits need. And all rabbits should be house rabbits of course!

Oh, Sean’s birthday follows close on the heels of mine and what he wants for his birthday is an anti-milk t-shirt. It seems we used to see one all the time with an illustration of a man lying underneath a cow sucking on her udder, with the caption “milk is natural.” We can’t find that shirt anywhere now. Anyone got any leads for me?

What kinds of vegan t-shirts do any of you like to wear? I have one I really like that says something like “VEGAN, for the earth, for the animals, for your health” or something along those lines. I was wearing the UPC shirts with the beautiful hen and rooster illustrations saying “too neat to eat.” However, I am thinking that I wear this stuff to my gym and maybe I should go for a shirt that really shouts the message, since I’m not sure people bother to read the caption on the UPC shirt and probably just think it’s a cute shirt. I was looking at shirts online, but I don’t want stuff that’s more of an inside joke among vegans, like the vegan freak shirts, or the vegan princess shirts. I just want something with a clear message.

6 Comments »

  1. bazu said,

    When is your birthday coming up? I could so understand your wish for watercress and sushi- what a refreshing combo. I also usually get a little depressed right before my birthday, but I hope you have fun on the day and get everything you want!
    As for the shirt, I think cafe press has some nice vegan ones. Some are hilarious, and if I had a huge t-shirt budget, I’d buy them all. One of them says “beef: it’s what’s rotting in your colon” ha ha!

  2. Neva Vegan said,

    Thanks. I’ll check out cafe press! I want something that is really clear–not confusing–but still funny or catchy.

    My birthday is Sunday. What is it with birthdays that they are so upsetting. I know a bunch of people who all hate birthdays, so I’m not the only one.

  3. Anonymous said,

    Hey Neva,

    Fear not your birthday. Think of it as a symbol and milestone of the victories you have had over pain and fear, and reflect upon the compassionate, thoughtful intelligent woman you have become. And do something just for you, that pleases you. 🙂

    Happy Birthday!

  4. Neva Vegan said,

    Thank you! I don’t really know what to say. Thanks for being so kind!

  5. Deb said,

    Birthdays are sort of weird. I tend to keep mine quiet, and hope that the people who know when it is forget, because for some reason it makes me uncomfortable to even have people say “happy birthday.” weird.

    Last year I was leafletting out of town, and afterwards had time for a quick coffee with one of my oldest friends, who lives in that town. We hadn’t said anything about it being my birthday, but she brought me a little thing. And somehow I didn’t mind that, which is still sort of weird considering that it all generally makes me feel uncomfortable!

    I hope you have a great time and a great watercress salad and sushi!

  6. Neva Vegan said,

    Thanks. It was a decent birthday. They are strange and sometimes a little unnerving. We don’t want to make a big deal, but we don’t want to feel ignored either.


Leave a comment