April 25, 2007

Accident postpones real blogging

Posted in real life at 1:45 pm by nevavegan

I had so many good things I wanted to blog, like about how watercress is the best food ever, how there was the most adorable baby snake in my flower bed, and how I handed out brochures for Vegan Outreach on Monday. However, I was in a fender bender this morning and I’m a little too shaken to write.

A woman hit me from behind while I was at a stoplight. No big deal except that I’m totally panicked. Last September someone hit me from behind, really messed up the car, and then, long story short, after I got out of my car they drove their van into my body as they fled the scene of the accident. We were supposed to go to trial in February, but it’s been postponed until late May as the psycho who hit me managed to get himself thrown into prison down in Virginia, thus not making it to trial in February.

That’s the condensed version. The longer version includes said psycho following me around to try to intimidate me into dropping the charges and the police failing to be competent in every possible way. The guy who hit me has a long record of violent offenses and also drugs and burglary. Most people who run across his bad side end up hurt far worse than I was, so in that sense I was lucky.

Um, also, score one for vegan bones. I’ve been vegan over 13 years, vegetarian with a milk allergy far longer than that, and apparently I’ve got great bones. I can get hit by a van and get up with a few bruises and nothing broken. NOTHING.

My accident this morning has none of those elements. The woman was perfectly nice and apologetic and hey, accidents happen, that’s why we call them “accidents.” But there’s a part of me waiting for something terrible to happen.

Yeah, I get that I’m apparently a walking disaster area. There’s a part of that story where I’m pretty sure that if it had been my husband driving last September, or heaven forbid, my father, none of that ever would have happened. But I send out signals of “I’m easy to push around.” So I guess they really thought they’d get away with it. I’ve got to learn to send out the “I’m tough, don’t mess with me” vibes.

5 Comments »

  1. Vincent Guihan said,

    That really sucks, all around. I’m glad you’re okay, though. “I’m tough, don’t mess with me” vibes are important. I practice looking mean in the mirror every morning. 😉

    I’d agree, though, that you lucky rather than a ‘walking disaster area’. If you have to have self-fulfilling prophecies about yourself, they might as well be good ones!

  2. Neva Vegan said,

    Thanks Vincent. I’m not trying to be a negative thinker actually, it’s just that stuff happens to me that just doesn’t happen to other people. It’s not always worse stuff, since lots of people face horrible tragedies, it’s just stuff that people don’t really believe because it’s very strange.

    I was writing this and I thought, wow, someone just reading this blog is going to think my life is one strange disaster to the next. I guess that means I need to blog the good stuff too.

  3. vko said,

    Oh Neva, that’s terrible- but I’m glad that you are okay. And as for that run-in with the psycho, I’m sorry you had to go through that- nothing to say except that it totally sucked, but luckily, it didn’t get any worse- so in that sense I would say that you are lucky.

    I love you bunnies.

  4. Neva Vegan said,

    Thank you. Sometimes I have the stupidest luck I guess. I can’t call it good luck, but I do seem to land on my feet. My husband says my car is kind of messed up today, but we need to get an estimate.

  5. bazu said,

    Oh my gosh, I am SO sorry for your accident. And your previous accident sounds horrifying. Please take good care of yourself- even the most insignificant fender bender can give you whiplash or a concussion that you are not aware of. Feel better soon!


Leave a Reply

