March 25, 2007

Pushy Vegans

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:57 pm by nevavegan

Someone recently said to me (by way of rebuke) that she doesn’t care “what anyone eats” as long as they don’t try to push their beliefs on others. This was specifically directed at me as I’d been talking about some (in my opinion) bonuses to being vegan and she felt this was pushy.

I was somewhat taken aback because I sincerely did not think I was being even the slightest bit pushy.

My first thought was that such comments would be really offensive if applied to other groups.

What if she said “I don’t mind Muslims so long as they don’t dress like it.” But wait, people do say that…

What if it had been “I don’t care what people do in the privacy of their own homes, but why do gay people have to flaunt it…” Oh, wait, people say that too.

“I don’t mind immigrants as long as they don’t have accents…”

Sigh and it only gets worse from there.

I feel pretty sad at the moment.

Leave a Reply

